DENVER — Friday, Feb. 17, 2017 — Gov. John Hickenlooper today announced Boards and Commissions appointments to the State Board of Human Services and Tony Grampsas Youth Services Board.

The State Board of Human Services adopts policies, rules and regulations for the administration of the Department of Human Services and adjusts the minimum award for old age pensions for changes in the cost of living. The Board also adopts rules and regulations concerning foster care and adoption procedures, mental health programs, alcohol and drug abuse programs and developmental disabilities programs.

For a term expiring March 1, 2019:

  • Honorable Thomas Crawford Davidson of Dillon, to serve as a family member of a person with a disability and changing his previous designation as county commissioner, appointed;

for terms expiring March 1, 2021:

  • Bernard A. Buescher of Grand Junction, to serve as a member of the public, appointed;
  • Jeffrey Gordon Kuhr of Grand Junction, a member of the public, reappointed;
  • Dennis Edward Swain of Northglenn, to serve as a member of the public, reappointed;
  • Chris J. Watney of Denver, to serve as a member of the public, appointed.  

The Tony Grampsas Youth Services Board develops program guidelines for proposal design, local public-to-private funding match requirements, and application review processes; develops criteria for awarding grants and develop result-oriented criteria for measuring the effectiveness of programs; establishes timelines for submission and review of grant applications and reviews all applications for funding and chooses those entities that should receive grants; and submits their grant recommendations to the Governor for final approval.

For a term expiring July 1, 2018:

  • Brian Wayne Brant, MSW of Denver, to serve as a representative of a community planning for violence prevention, and occasioned by the resignation of Michelle K. Petix of Oak Creek, appointed