Gov. Hickenlooper nominates Donna Lynne as Lieutenant Governor

DENVER — Wednesday, March 23, 2016 — Gov. John Hickenlooper today nominated Donna Lynne to serve as Lieutenant Governor effective upon formal confirmation by the General Assembly. Lt. Gov. Joe Garcia announced previously that he will leave the state to take on the role of president of Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education. His last day will be April 29, 2016.

Lynne will assume both the traditional duties of the lieutenant governor with additional responsibilities of a chief operating officer to direct state operations. The governor plans to discuss this new role with the General Assembly.

Gov. Hickenlooper orders flags lowered to honor the victims of the attack in Brussels, Belgium

DENVER —  Tuesday, March 22, 2016 — Gov. John Hickenlooper today ordered flags be flown at half-staff on all public buildings statewide beginning immediately until sunset, March 26, 2016, and as proclaimed by President Barack Obama.

The full text of the president’s proclamation:

Office of the Press Secretary
For Immediate Release March 22, 2016

Gov. Hickenlooper statement on Supreme Court denial of interstate marijuana lawsuit

DENVER — Monday, March 21, 2016 — Gov. John Hickenlooper issued the following statement today regarding the United States Supreme Court denial of the interstate challenge to Colorado’s legal marijuana laws:

“Since Colorado voters overwhelming passed legal recreational marijuana in 2012, we have worked diligently to put in place a regulatory framework - the first in the world - that allows this new industry to operate while protecting public health and safety. With today's Supreme Court ruling, the work we've completed so far remains intact. The Attorney General's office has done a remarkable job of vigorously defending the Colorado Constitution. We thank them for their hard work on this case."

Colorado revenue forecast shows a slower pace of growth

DENVER — Friday, March 18, 2016 — The Governor’s Office of State Planning and Budgeting (OSPB) today released its quarterly economic forecast.

Colorado’s economy continues to grow at a slower pace than in recent years with General Fund revenue forecasted to increase just 1.5 percent in FY 2015-16. Several factors are converging to cause the marked slowdown in revenue growth this fiscal year, including the deep contraction in the oil and gas sector, a continued tepid stock market, and global economic pressures that are reducing corporate profits.

OSPB expects General Fund revenue growth to rebound moderately in FY 2016-17 from continued economic expansion and as some of the factors weighing on revenue collections this fiscal year abate. General Fund revenue is projected to increase 6.4 percent in FY 2016-17, which is below the rates experienced in most years of the current expansion.

Gov. Hickenlooper announces Boards and Commissions appointments

DENVER — Friday, March 18, 2016 — Gov. John Hickenlooper today announced several Boards and Commissions appointments to the State Emergency Medical and Trauma Services Advisory Council, Colorado Coroners Standards and Training Board, Colorado Podiatry Board and Juvenile Parole Board.

The State Emergency Medical and Trauma Services Advisory Council advises the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment on matters relating to emergency medical and trauma services programs. The Council’s duties include developing curricula for the training of emergency medical personnel, establishing requirements for ambulance vehicles and services, and determining the eligibility of facilities to receive trauma center designation.

Gov. Hickenlooper proclaims “Buffs and Rams are Dancing Day”

DENVER — Thursday, March 17, 2016 — Gov. John Hickenlooper today proclaimed “Buffs and Rams are Dancing Day” in recognition of the University of Colorado men’s basketball team and Colorado State University women’s basketball team both earning well-deserved spots in the NCAA tournament, also know as the Big Dance.

Today, the CU Buffaloes take on the University of Connecticut Huskies in the South Regional in Des Moines, Iowa. On Saturday, the CSU Rams first opponent will be the University of South Florida Bulls in the Bridgeport Regional in Los Angeles, California.